27…And Beyond

“And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” — Abraham Lincoln.

“It takes a long time to grow young.” — Pablo Picasso

At 9:44 this morning, I officially turned 27. It’s funny how I can feel both way older and way younger than that. I’m still not entirely sure how I’m a day over 18, and yet the headache I woke up with makes me feel like I’m 60.

I had a fantastic birthday weekend. I saw “Scream 4” on Saturday. I’d been waiting for it since I’d heard they were making it, and it didn’t disappoint. I’m not in the mood to write a whole review of it. I’m sure you could find one quite quickly and easily. I’ll say that the “Scream” series is really very different from most other horror series. It lets the cast age instead of replacing them with new, younger people. It hasn’t been “rebooted” yet, and hopefully they won’t reboot it at all. “Scream” with an entirely new cast just wouldn’t be “Scream.” I’ll say this, though – the theater had someone come in dressed entirely as Ghostface and carrying what I assume was a plastic knife. He sat down for a few moments, tapping the knife against his lap, then stood up, looked around, and walked back out. I’m not a fan of interactive scares, and I found myself focusing on him for the entire several minutes he was there so that I wouldn’t be surprised if he did something to startle us. Not funny.

Saturday evening, I played games with my parents and aunt and uncle. Aunt April happens to share my birthday, so we had cake for her. I won a game of Phase 10 Twist (if you haven’t heard of it, or Phase 10 in general, seriously, check it out. Fun game).

Sunday, Aunt April and I headed out to do some shopping and spend the day together. It’s become a bit of a tradition that we hang out on or near our birthday. Ate some Olive Garden chicken parm (never disappoints). Had my own cake that night and played some more games (we’re a game family).

It was a good weekend.

And if you had told me a year ago that I’d be able to enjoy my 27th birthday, I’d have laughed in your face. So I’m grateful for that. Not necessarily hopeful for my 28th, but provided today goes well (and this headache goes away), my 27th isn’t going to suck.

That’s not the only thing that I would’ve laughed at had you told me a year ago. I never dreamed, for example, that I’d be driving to places besides work and home, and certainly not to the extent I’ve taken it. So, the past year has been surprisingly good to me. I’m extremely fortunate to have the friends that I have in my life – one in particular, who has gone above and beyond what most friends would or should. I’m grateful for my excellent family, for a job that I (usually) love, and for the opportunity to do things I haven’t done before.

Every year around this time, I look ahead and think about things that I want to do, particularly over the summer. I call it my REALLY WANNA DO list. It’s kinda like a bucket list, but far less morbid. I’m starting to compile this year’s list now. Mostly it consists of things I probably won’t accomplish, which I’m fine with, because when I do get to do one of them, it feels that much better to cross it off the list.

This year’s list, so far, consists of things like, “See ‘Wicked’ when it comes back to Pittsburgh” (probably accomplishable), “Skydive” (far less likely to happen), and “Go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter” (we’ll see), among others.

I know I haven’t been blogging much lately. I’m not entirely sure what the future holds for this site. Last year, when I wrote this post, I surged into a brief popularity in which I was receiving over 80 hits every time I posted something new. That felt good. That’s why I blog. Since then, however, it’s tapered off, and I’m lucky if I get five views. That’s quite a difference. Which is a shame, because I’ve written a few other posts I’m really proud of – like this, this, this, and this – and they, sadly, did not receive the attention I would’ve hoped.

But I don’t think I’m totally done blogging yet. I have one post in my head that I’ve been waiting a couple weeks to write. And I’ll probably blog about Easter sometime this week. It’s all about motivation. And enthusiasm. And boredom. And overcoming laziness. But it helps when I know people are reading – especially if you also like what you read. So let me know.

And to those of you who do continue to read my stuff, I thank you. I hope that I don’t disappoint. Or, at least, that I don’t totally suck.


Nathan
Follow me on Twitter @howirollblog
Like my blog? Share it!

2 responses to “27…And Beyond

  • Kaitlyn (Kaitlyn in Bookland)

    Wooo look at this, a blog post! Happy Birthday 🙂 I’m excited to see Scream 4! I’m glad you liked it. I need to go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, but, unfortunately, it probably won’t be until next year. My mother and I have plans to go once I finish grad school. If that isn’t motivation, I don’t know what is! Keep the posts comingggg.

  • Devin Freeman Moraserga

    Michelle comes in the room with her suitcase and announces that she s all ready to move to Aunt Becky s.

Leave a Reply

