10 Reasons You Should Be Watching The Hub

For those of you who don’t know, Discovery Kids was re-branded as The Hub, a joint project between Discovery Communications and Hasbro, in October. Since then, I’ve come to realize quite a few things I love about it (not the least of which being that I get to work on the shows that air on it). Here’s some of the reasons why…

10. The Adventures of Chuck and Friends. Okay, it’s a pre-schoolers’ show. And, yeah, it would be hard to sit through several episodes at once. But taken in moderation, it’s actually a really cute show, and the theme song is totally addictive.

9. Classic family movies. They’ve been airing almost all of the Muppet movies, for example.

8. Happy Days and Laverne & Shirley. Yep, two of the most classic sitcoms ever, airing nightly. I always liked “Laverne & Shirley” a bit more than “Happy Days.” Hub is also showing “Family Ties,” but I don’t like that one quite enough to mention it.

7. Doogie Howser, M.D. You know, that guy from “How I Met Your Mother,” back when he still wasn’t a doctor, but he played the world’s youngest doctor on TV. I got into it while it was in syndication after its original run.

6. The Wonder Years. I was just a kid when this show aired, so my parents appreciated it more. Now that I’m older, I really get it. It was, indeed, an excellent show.

5. Batman Beyond. Okay, it wasn’t “Batman: The Animated Series,” but it was the same continuity, I believe, and it was pretty good in its own right. They’re also airing the ‘60s Adam West “Batman.”

4. Honey, I Shrunk the Kids: The TV Show. Ahh, one of those shows from my childhood. I can remember watching this on Disney Channel when it originally aired. Is it cheesy? Oh, completely. But in such a wonderful, self-aware way. Peter Scolari (of “Newhart” fame) takes over for Rick Moranis, and also note Thomas Dekker as the son. Dekker went on to star in a ton of other stuff, like “Heroes,” “Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles,” and the reboot of “Nightmare on Elm Street.”

3. Fraggle Rock. Yes, that’s right. Perhaps you remember it by its official title, “Fraggle Freakin’ Rock”! I didn’t have the pleasure of viewing this first time around. It premiered a year before I was born, and I didn’t get cable until I was a teenager (and never had HBO). I also don’t remember it in syndication. But I got to see several episodes at work, and now I’m totally hooked. A truly classic show, indeed. One of my co-workers says she can sing along with all the songs.

2. The Transformers and G.I. Joe. Yep, the original ‘80s versions, for a campy, nostalgic good time. Complete with the commercial bumpers (“We now return to ‘The Transformers.’”). But even better are the about-to-premiere new versions of each franchise. I’ve had the pleasure of seeing the first couple episodes of both “G.I. Joe: Renegades” and “Transformers Prime,” and I can’t express how incredibly great they both are. Watch them starting afternoons this Friday, November 26th. (Check your listings.)

1. The potential. Hub is just starting out. There are so many classic shows they could start to air. It seems that they tend to go for currently out-of-syndication series, which gives me hope for things such as “Perfect Strangers” or “Mama’s Family.” I can dream, right?

So, please, watch The Hub. Support it. Yeah, not everything on it is great (I hate their game shows and most of their pre-school stuff, but I’m not really the target audience, either.) But it’s quickly becoming one of my favorite channels. Keep it on the air!


Nathan
Follow me on Twitter @howirollblog
Like my blog? Share it!

Leave a Reply

