Imagine What You’ll Know Tomorrow

“A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky, dangerous animals and you know it. 1,500 years ago, everybody knew the Earth was the center of the universe. 500 years ago, everybody knew the Earth was flat, and 15 minutes ago, you knew that humans were alone on this planet. Imagine what you’ll know tomorrow.” –Men In Black

I’m not really one to put my utmost faith in science. Obviously, it’s done great things – curing diseases, digital cameras, cellphones, Mr. Clean Magic Eraser. And it’s led to cool, though not entirely necessary, things – man on the moon, the Wii, iPads. But so many people believe so strongly in science and its abilities, when in reality, I don’t think science can explain all that much.

I should mention at the forefront that I’m a Christian, and the whole idea of God, Jesus, and miracles defies all scientific thought. I don’t believe in evolution, and I can’t really verbalize how much I hate that this theory – which is, despite what many will have you believe, still very much a theory – is pretty much taught as fact in all schools now, while opposing views are essentially ridiculed. I also don’t believe that mankind is single-handedly destroying the planet. I do believe we need to do a lot of things that happen to coincide with the “Green” movement, but for entirely different reasons, and we need to figure out a way to do them affordably and conveniently and without destroying millions of jobs in the process. But I’m not writing this post to sound off on this stuff. That’s a post for a different day.

I believe that so many things cannot be scientifically explained. I believe in ghosts, for example, though I’ve never seen one and can’t say I want to. (I don’t, however, believe in aliens, though the topic fascinates me.) I believe that things like witches, vampires, the Loch Ness Monster, Bigfoot, and werewolves actually could exist. I’m not saying that they do; in all likelihood, they don’t; but my point is, it wouldn’t surprise me. I believe in angels and demons and good and evil and the end of days and all those things.

I believe that most myths and legends have some sort of source, and I don’t think that it’s as simple as, for example, the unicorn coming from the elasmotherium.

My point is, I think there are a lot of things out there that science can’t explain. And scientists would have you believe these things either don’t exist or simply can’t be explained yet. Science is, at its core, narrow-minded. Science claims to know everything but actually knows very little. It chooses to believe its explanation for something is correct then mocks differing opinions.

Yeah, science obviously has its benefits – and I’m quite grateful for many of them – but it also has its shortcomings. Because what they say is true today will be completely different tomorrow.

The last few paragraphs from the late Michael Crichton’s “The Lost World” sum it up rather nicely:

“Are you listening to all that?” Thorne said. “I wouldn’t take any of it too seriously. It’s just theories. Human beings can’t help making them, but the fact is that theories are just fantasies. And they change. When America was a new country, people believed in something called phlogiston. You know what that is? No? Well, it doesn’t matter, because it wasn’t real anyway. They also believed that four humors controlled behavior. And they believed that the earth was only a few thousand years old. Now we believe the earth is four billion years old, and we believe in photons and electrons, and we think human behavior is controlled by things like ego and self-esteem. We think those beliefs are more scientific and better.”

“Aren’t they?”

Thorne shrugged. “They’re still just fantasies. They’re not real. Have you ever seen a self-esteem? Can you bring me one on a plate? How about a photon? Can you bring me one of those?”

Kelly shook her head. “No, but…”

“And you never will, because those things don’t exist. No matter how seriously people take them,” Thorne said. “A hundred years from now, people will look back at us and laugh. They’ll say, ‘You know what people used to believe? They believed in photons and electrons. Can you imagine anything so silly?’ They’ll have a good laugh, because by then there will be newer and better fantasies.” Thorne shook his head. “And meanwhile, you feel the way the boat moves? That’s the sea. That’s real. You smell the salt in the air? You feel the sunlight on your skin? That’s all real. You see all of us together? That’s real. Life is wonderful. It’s a gift to be alive, to see the sun and breathe the air. And there isn’t really anything else. Now look at that compass, and tell me where south is. I want to go to Puerto Cortés. It’s time for us all to go home.”


Nathan
Follow me on Twitter @howirollblog
Like my blog? Share it!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One response to “Imagine What You’ll Know Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

