The Year’s Last, Loveliest Smile

“Bittersweet October. The mellow, messy, leaf-kicking, perfect pause between the opposing miseries of summer and winter.”
Carol Bishop Hipps

“Autumn, the year’s last, loveliest smile.”
William Cullen Bryan

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. I love fall! And as I sit here with my windows closed, with no air conditioner or fan running, wearing pants instead of shorts, I remember exactly how much I love fall.

I have an uncle who gets downright depressed at this time of year, not because he hates the weather, but because he knows winter is just around the corner. But while the thought of winter certainly doesn’t thrill me in the least, since I can do nothing to slow down the passage of time (at least, not until the government finally gives me the plutonium I keep asking for), I intend to enjoy fall for what it is – my favorite season.

I’ve never minded the shorter days. During the week, I’m at work when the sun goes down anyway, so whether it gets dark at 9:00 or 6:00, it makes little difference to me. I don’t even mind when we turn the clocks back. In fact, when I was younger, I used to look forward to it. There’s something cozy about it, I think. If that makes any sense whatsoever.

I look forward to my annual October Scary Movie Weekends. Hopefully this year I’ll be able to persuade some others to join me. Sadly I don’t know many people – and by that, I mean I know one – who like scary movies. My kind of scary, that is, which I described in my post about “Scream.” I think I might make it a theme to blog about more of my favorites all throughout October. Maybe I’ll do a countdown. I love just curling up on the couch in my sweats and watching movies all day, and this weather is pretty much made for that.

How about you? Do you love fall or hate it, and why?


Nathan

Follow me on Twitter @howirollblog
Like my blog? Share it!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

