Time of Day

I always say that I am not a morning person. That’s one of the main reasons I work swing shift. But the truth is, the more I think about it, the more I realize that’s really not an accurate statement.

I guess a more appropriate statement would be that I’m not an early morning person. I seriously don’t understand how most people I know get up at 6AM or earlier to get ready for work. I can get up that early occasionally, but to do it every day seems like it would just be torture.

But for as long as I can remember, I’ve preferred daytime. If I’m planning to go out, I’d much rather start around 10 or 11 in the morning. Where most younger people seem to think social life starts after dark, I would rather be finished with my day’s activities by the time the sun sets. That isn’t to say I don’t enjoy an occasional night out, mind you. I love going to an evening movie or play. But overall, I’d rather be home in the evening.

I wonder if this stems from my love for TV and wanting to be home to watch the primetime programming when I was younger. More recently, it may also be connected to my work schedule. I’m rarely home on a weekday evening, so when I can be, I find it to be a really enjoyable experience.

I know I’ve definitely never been a night owl. I’ve never spent the entire night out or stayed up all night watching movies. I like sleep entirely too much for that. But I’ve also never been one to sleep much later than 10AM. Go figure.

I guess that means I’m a day person – not quite a morning person, and not a night person.

Fascinating, isn’t it? Or boring, I suppose. It’s a judgment call. 🙂


Nathan

Follow me on Twitter @howirollblog
Like my blog? Share it!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 responses to “Time of Day

  • sundryandco

    I’m a bit mixed up like that – Workwise, I’m quite productive at night, or in the very early morning. However, I find it difficult to wake up very early and start working at 9am (my brain goes into sleep mode during working hours). However, I wake up anywhere between 7am and 9am at the weekend (without an alarm clock) and I like it that way – I feel like I get an extra long weekend! I think how easy or difficult I find it to wake up depends on what I’m waking up for. And finally, I too prefer to make the most of the evening and take it easy after 9pm. Although, I haven’t always been like that. I just love the feeling of winding down after 9pm. Perhaps in our hypothetical former lives we were owls. Or hedgehogs. Did you know that hedgehogs snort when they forage, and scream when they’re upset? 😦

  • Nathan

    Sorry it took me so long to reply to your comment. I can honestly say I did not know that about hedgehogs, but now I do and I don’t think I’ll forget!

    And you are my first international comment, which makes you, like, cool! Thanks for reading!

  • sundryandco

    Hooray – I feel special in my own international way!

    I picked up a hedgehog once. While wearing gloves. He was surprisingly plump and felt a bit like Play-doh.

Leave a Reply

