Fall TV Is Upon Us

Fall is my favorite time of year for the weather, the changing leaves, and — most importantly, of course — the start of the network prime-time season. It’s true that, in recent years, networks, especially cable, have been breaking the fall-to-spring boundaries and having winter/summer seasons, turning out great shows like “Leverage” and “Burn Notice” and the gone-but-not-forgotten “Monk.” But ultimately, the fall season is still the fall season, and I get goosebumps at the mere thought.

So, here’s what I plan to watch this year. Bear in mind, I have to DVR everything and watch them later because I work nights, so don’t spoil anything for me if you watch something and I haven’t.

  • The Event (NBC, 9/20) Jason Ritter stars as a man who uncovers a huge conspiracy. Appears to be a serialized mystery/suspense/action show of sorts, all of which sound good to me!
  • No Ordinary Family (ABC, 9/28) Michael Chiklis (The Shield) and Julie Benz (Buffy/Angel) star as the parents in a family who, after surviving a plane crash, discover they’re basically becoming superheroes.
  • Modern Family (ABC, 9/22) I got into this show near the end of last season, and now I can’t wait to see it come back. I typically prefer a more old-fashioned approach to sitcoms, but this — well, this show is just h-i-larious!
  • Nikita (CW, 9/9) I watched the pilot this morning on the treadmill, and I’m hooked. The latest incarnation of La Femme Nikita, about a woman wronged by the agency she used to work for as an assassin, so she decides to get her revenge.
  • The Undercovers (NBC, 9/22) JJ Abrams solidified my admiration with Alias and the reboot of Star Trek (one of the best movies ever). Now he adds this spy show to the mix, which I’m thinking looks a bit like Alias without all the sci-fi/fantasy aspects (and that’s not necessarily a bad thing).
  • Smallville (CW,  9/24) I am, perhaps, more excited about Smallville’s return than any other show this fall. I lost interest in Smallville for a couple years, but last season got me back! The finale was nothing short of insane, and I can’t wait to see the conclusion. This is officially Smallville’s last season, so expect Clark’s transformation into Superman, which, if you’re anything like me, practically makes you want to squeal with delight.
  • V (ABC, sometime in November) I genuinely enjoyed V last season, and after the cliffhanger finale, waiting till November is killing me!

And here are the shows I may give a chance.

  • Amazing Race 17 (CBS, 9/26) I’ve enjoyed bits and pieces of this show in the past, and as far as I know, I have nothing else to watch on Sunday nights.
  • Hawaii Five-O (CBS, 9/20) A remake/reboot of the classic show. I almost have to watch just to see if they manage to update it successfully.
  • Glee (Fox, 9/21) I may be the only musical fan on the planet who didn’t watch the first season of Glee, aside from bits and pieces. But I love the concept and everything I’ve seen of it, so it’s quite possible this season I’ll become a Gleek.
  • Fringe (Fox,  9/23) As this is also a JJ Abrams show, I watched the first half of the first season of Fringe, but then it lost me. Maybe it’s time to give it another try.
  • Supernatural (CW, 9/24) I watched the first couple seasons, but for some reason I’ve left it behind. That may have been a mistake, given what I’ve heard from fans.

So, there you have it. Why don’t you weigh in? Either leave a Comment or hit me up on Twitter!


Nathan

Follow me on Twitter @howirollblog
Like my blog? Share it!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

