I Love It When a Plan Comes Together

I’m Nathan, and this is how I roll with the punches.

Having never seen the original series, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect of “The A-Team,” but I have to admit, I found myself thoroughly entertained. But, then again, it’s an action flick starring Liam Neeson. Chances were pretty good, indeed, that I’d enjoy it, considering “Taken” is one of my favorite movies. Add Jessica Biel on top of that, and I’m surprised I wasn’t in line opening night.

As with any good action movie, suspension of disbelief is a necessity. Fortunately, I tend to walk around in a nearly permanent state of suspended disbelief (would that just be “belief”?), so it wasn’t particularly difficult. It’s not likely that you’re going to hear me say, “That could never happen!” when I’m watching a movie. In fact, it’s highly unlikely you’ll even catch me watching a movie that could actually happen.

“A-Team” is quite well-cast, with the aforementioned Neeson and Biel, and Bradley Cooper and Sharlto Copley (from “District 9,” a movie I’ve yet to see but I think I’d like immensely). Cooper already has a special place in my heart for having starred in “Alias.” And I’ve been a fan of Biel since her “7th Heaven” days – y’know, in the early years when “7th Heaven” actually didn’t suck. A surprise was the appearance of Gerald McRaney. I’m probably one of the youngest people alive who actually fondly remembers his TV series “Major Dad.” (Factoid: McRaney is married to Delta Burke, of “Designing Women” fame.)

And though no one will get this reference, there was also a fun little Easter Egg in the movie, as listed in the credits of a movie playing on screen was an actor named “Reginald Barclay,” which happens to be the name of a character played in “Star Trek: The Next Generation” by Dwight Schultz, who just so happened to play Murdock in the original “A-Team” TV series. But that’s enough “Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon.”

Several exciting trailers preceded the movie. I definitely can’t wait to see “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice,” with Nicolas Cage. And “Predators”? Um…joygasm! Not to mention it’s by Robert Rodriguez. And, finally, “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World,” which looks like a geek’s dream movie.

I leave you now with this trailer for “A-Team.” If you like action comedies, I suggest you see it post haste.


Nathan
Follow me on Twitter @howirollblog
Like my blog? Share it!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

