Summer Weight

I’m Nathan, and this is how I roll.

So, they say that most people have a winter weight and a summer weight, right? And people usually weigh less in the summer and more in the winter, what with the holidays that occur in that time and the yummy goodness that is pumpkin pie and all that.

I, on the other hand, continuing my lifelong trend of being annoyingly different, actually gain weight in the summer. I find it easier to be active and exercise and everything else in the winter, when it’s cooler and there’s less to do, than in the summer, when it’s hot and sticky and I generally have a (slightly) more active social life.

Case in point, I woke up a few days ago and, contemplating how annoying the treadmill would be, I decided to weigh myself, hoping that my weight would be the same as it had been a couple of weeks ago, and I’d settle into a simple maintenance plan instead of a weight-loss goal, until the motivation hits me again (which it will).

Now, let me rewind a bit and inform you that, over the past several years, I’ve actually managed to lose 40 pounds. This certainly isn’t “Biggest Loser” speed or numbers, but I’m quite happy with it. I generally stay within a few pounds of 200, and I’m content to remain there. It’s easier to keep off when you lose it slowly anyway.

So, a few weeks ago, when I was around 205, I wasn’t thrilled, but that’s still what I consider tolerable. I figured if I was around 206ish, I wouldn’t bother with the treadmill for now, and I’d just keep an eye on my weight and, when it starts to increase, I’d start with the cardio again.

I wasn’t expecting 208. That was harsh. And unfair. And some other words that I won’t say in case some younger eyes are reading this.

I saw that, my eyes widened, my stomach dropped. “I shall start working out hardcore once more, until I get back to a more reasonable weight,” I proclaimed in my best Renaissance-style voice.

Then I turned on the TV and ate breakfast. And, with the sugar rush that Corn Pops can provide, I was struck by an epiphany.

“As long as I’m under 210…”

I’m sure this particular attitude won’t last, and I’ll be back at it in no time. But on the off chance it does, don’t be too surprised if, one day, I open my blog thusly:

“I’m Nathan, and this is how you roll me onto my side, out of my bed, out of the house, and down the hill.”

(Leave a comment and tell me your weight-loss stories!)


Nathan
Follow me on Twitter @howirollblog
Like my blog? Share it!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

